Larry J. Seidman Award

larry seidman


Following his death in 2017 the board of the IEPA created the Larry Seidman Award to honour Dr. Lawrence J. Seidman, an eminent neuropsychologist and Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School. The Larry Seidman Award recognises outstanding mentoring of junior researchers or clinicians involved in mental health research.

Dr. Seidman was a leader in the area of early intervention and prevention of serious mental illness. His work was instrumental in the development of innovative clinical services for early course psychotic disorder patients, as well as for those at clinical high risk for these illnesses in Massachusetts. He was an astute clinician, and a highly sought-after teacher and mentor. Scores of scientists and clinicians around the world owe their accomplishments to his tutelage. Many of his mentees are leading scientists, professors or department heads around the world.


Past Larry J. Seidman Award Recipients

2023 – Anne Thorup

2018 – Matcheri Keshevan

Angelo Cocchi Award

After his death in 2015, the board of the IEPA created the Angelo Cocchi Award to honour his contribution to the field of early intervention in psychosis. The Angelo Cocchi Award is awarded to a clinician or clinical academic who has made a significant contribution to the study or implementation of fidelity to an evidence-based model of early intervention for youth and psychosis.

Find out more  about Angelo Cocchi and this award.




Past Angelo Cocchi Award Recipients

2023 –  Amal Abdel-Baki

2018 – Lisa Dixon, Paolo del Vecchio, John Kane & Robert Heinssen

2016 – Donald Addington

Richard J. Wyatt Award

The Richard J. Wyatt Award is awarded every two years at the IEPA Biennial Conference. It is awarded  to an individual who has made a remarkable contribution to the area of early intervention.


Find out more  about Richard J. Wyatt and this award.


Past Recipients of the Richard J. Wyatt Award


2023 – Mark van der Gaag

2020 – Jean Addington

2018 – Jan Olav Johannessen

2016 – Professor Merete Nordentoft

2014 – Professor Eric Chen

2012 – Dr David Shiers

2010 – Professor Alison Yung

2008 – Dr Thomas McGlashan

2006 – Professor Max Birchwood

2004 – Professor Patrick McGorry


Future Leaders Awards

IEPA wishes to encourage early career researchers and clinicians to continue to work in the field of early intervention. To coincide with our international conference, IEPA sometimes makes available two awards. The application process and eligibility criteria is announced closer to the conference date.

Eligible applicants will usually have completed their most recent degree (masters, PhD, MD, MBBS, nursing qualification, DClinPsych, etc.), post-doctoral fellowship, residency training or clinical fellowship within the last 5 years. The awards are aimed at those who have not yet reached a senior clinical or academic role.



Visit Award News to keep up to date with the latest award information.